Yehia Massoud

Yehia Massoud is the Head of the Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) department at Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI). He is also the Director of the WPI Center for Integrated Systems. He received his PhD degree in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1999. He was a member of the Technical Staff at the Advanced Technology Group at Synopsys Inc., Mountain View, CA from 1999 to 2003. He joined Rice University in July 2003, where he was the founding director of the Nanoelectronic Systems Laboratory (NSL), and a tenured associate professor from 2007 to 2010 and an assistant professor from 2003 to 2007 in the Electrical and Computer Engineering at Rice University. Before joining WPI in September 2012, he was the W.R. Bunn Head of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Yehia Massoud is Fellow of the IEEE. He was named distinguished lecturer by the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society for 2014-2015. He is the editor of mixed-signal letters-The Americas. He is also an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Very Large Scale Integration Systems (TVLSI), the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I (TCAS-I) and the Journal of Circuits, Systems, and Computers. He also served as a guest Co-Editor of the May 2010 special issue of the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I. He also serves on the founding editorial board of the NanoCom Journal. He has served as the 2009 General Program co-Chair and the 2007 Technical Program Co-Chair of the IEEE/ACM Great Lakes Symposium on VLSI. He has chaired or co-chaired more than conference tracks in many IEEE/ACM international conferences.

Dr. Massoud leads research efforts in various areas of Electrical and Computer Engineering and their application to Biotechnology and Nanotechnology. He has published more than 200 papers in peer reviewed journals and conferences. He served as the theme leader for Novel Interconnects and Architectures in the SRC Southwest Academy of Nanoelectronics (SWAN) from 2006-2011. He is an elected member of the IEEE Nanotechnology Council from 2009 to 2011. He was awarded the Rising Star of Texas Medal in the 2007 Nanosummit and was selected as one of ten MIT Alumni featured in the 2012 MIT EECS newsletter. He is a recipient of the National Science Foundation CAREER Award in 2005, the DAC fellowship in 2005, the Synopsys Special Recognition Engineering Award in 2000, several Best Paper Award Nominations, and two Best Paper Awards at the 2007 IEEE International Symposium on Quality Electronic Design and the 2011 IEEE International Conference on Nanotechnology.